11. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry (Gabrielle Zevin)

18293427

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry was recommended through an email from Chapters.  It tells the story of a bookseller who was struggling after his wife died.  He struggled to enjoy life and was not looking after himself until a toddler was left in his store with a note asking him to look after her and teach her to enjoy books.  The bookseller ended up adopting the girl and the story chronicles their life together.  Other characters, like the police chief, support the little family and following the arrival of the little girl, his business flourishes with as  he becomes more involved with the community and open to selling books that he would have scorned in the past.

This book is filled with references to many other books and will be enjoyable to anyone who loves reading.  At the beginning, the book references Lamb to Slaughter which is written by Roald Dahl (which I did not know).  I remember reading that short story in high school and think I will try to find it and re-read the story of a woman who kills her husband with a leg of lamb and then cooks and serves the weapon to the police.

The best quote comes from his proposal and is:

“When I read a book, I want you to be reading it at the same time.  I want to know what would Amelia think of it.  I want you to be mine.  I can promise you books and conversation and all my heart, Amy.”

This book gave me the inspiration to start this blog and share, discuss and debate books with other likeminded people.

3 Comments

Filed under Fiction

3 responses to “11. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry (Gabrielle Zevin)

  1. Pingback: 16. The Bookseller (Cynthia Swanson) « A Year of Books

  2. Pingback: 53. The Little Paris Bookshop (Nina George) | A Year of Books

  3. Pingback: Happy Father’s Day!! | A Year of Books

Leave a comment